Connect with Us:  

USA Swimming Honours Hyman, Krayzelburg and Quick

Oct 16, 2000

USA Swimming honoured some of its own last night at the annual USA Swimming Convention taking place in Orlando, Florida.

Swimmers Misty Hyman and Lenny Krayzelburg and Coach Richard Quick received honours.

Hyman was captured the Swimming Performance of the Year Award, for her upset win in the women's 200 butterfly event at the Olympics when she defeated the defending Olympic champion and world record holder Susie O'Neill.

Lenny Krayzelburg was named the Swimmer of the Year for the second consecutive year for his performances in Sydney where he won the 100 & 200 backstrokes in Olympic Record times and lead off the men's 4 x 100 medley relay team which set a world record.

Richard Quick was honoured as the Coach of the Year. He served as the head women's coach for the US team in Sydney.