Connect with Us:  

Pan Am Games - Day 5

Aug 7, 1999

We have last nights results from the swimming at the Pan Am Games in Winnipeg. They can be found in our meet results area.

South American men swept the medals in the mens 50m freestyle event taking, first through fourth spots. Fernando Scherer of Brazil won the event in 22.24. Argentinian Jose Meolans was second in 22.46 while Marcos Hernandez of Cuba took third in 22.79. Gustavo Borges of Brazil was fourth in 23.06, while Jerrod Kappler of the US finished fifth in 23.17.

In the 100m backstroke Cuban Rodolfo Falcon won the event with a time of 54.93. Fellow Cuban teammate Neisser Bent failed to win a medal and finished a close fourth behind American Matt Allen who managed to hold him off for the bronze medal. Alexandre Massura of Brazil was second in 55.17.

Shamek Pietucha of Canada won the gold in the mens 100 butterfly with a time of 1:59.10. The U.S. managed to capture the second and third places with Steven Brown getting the silver in 1:59.52 and Devin Howard getting the bronze medal with a time of 1:59.82.

Kaitlin Sandeno of the U.S. added a second freestyle gold medal to her collection with a win in the womens 800 freestyle. Her time of 8:34.65 put her well ahead of second place finisher Janelle Atkinson of Jamaica who had a time of 8:39.51. Lindsay Beavers of Canada picked up the bronze medal with a time of 8:44.21. Fellow Canadian Danielle Bell was fifth in 8:51.89. Alexis Binder of the U.S. was fourth in 8:48.15.

Joanne Malar, one of Canada's stars of the meet picked up her second individual gold medal and wrapped up the IM titles for the meet with her win in the 200 IM in a time of 2:14.18. Maggie Bowen of the U.S. was second in 2:15.26 adding another silver to her previous silver in the 400 IM event. Marianne Limpert picked up a bronze medal with a time of 2:15.80. Gabrielle Rose of the U.S. finished fourth with a time of 2:16.06.

The womens medley relay event was won by the U.S. with a time of 4:06.08. Canada was second in 4:08.73. No bronze medal was awarded in the event because there were only 4 teams.