Connect with Us:  

Three Virginia Swimmers Earn ACC Honors

May 11, 2000

Bernardino Named ACC Men's Coach of the Year

Courtesy Virginia Swimming
GREENSBORO, N.C. -- University of Virginia second-year Ed Moses (Burke, Va./Lake Braddock) and first-year Cara Lane (Charlotte, Va./Providence) have been selected as the Atlantic Coast Conference's Men's and Women's Swimmers of the Year, respectively. In addition, first-year Mirjana Bosevska (Skopje, Macedonia/Trinity Prep) has been named the conference's women's Rookie of the Year, while UVa head coach Mark Bernardino has been chosen as the ACC Men's Coach of the Year. All the awards were selected in a vote of the league's head coaches.

Moses, one of the top breaststrokers in the world, is coming off a spectacular sophomore season at Virginia. In addition to earning the swimming team's MVP Award, he was recently presented the WCHV Award as Virginia's top male athlete for the 1999-2000 academic year. Moses set a pair of short course world records and three American records in winning the 2000 NCAA titles in the 100 and 200-meter breaststroke in March. He clocked a time of 57.66 seconds in the 100 and had a time of 2:06.40 in the 200 in becoming UVa's first two-time NCAA Champion. Moses also established an American 50-meter breaststroke record with a time of 26.96 seconds in the 50-meter split in the 100. For his performance at the NCAA meet, Moses was selected as the Swimmer of the Championship, the first time an ACC swimmer has received the award.

After the NCAA Championships, Moses won the 100 and 200-meter breaststroke events at the Phillips 66 National Championships. Moses, the school record holder in the 100 and 200-breaststroke, also won the 100-breaststroke title at the ACC Championships in February.

Lane, the Cavaliers' team MVP, became the first UVa female swimmer to earn a NCAA title as she won the 1500-meter freestyle by nearly 11 seconds with a time of 16:03.59 in March. Lane was also third in the 400-meter free (4:07.31) and was 14th in the 200-meter butterfly (2:13.26). Lane also swam on UVa's eighth-place 800 free relay team (8:05.54). She became the sixth UVa female swimmer to be named the Most Valuable Swimmer of the ACC Championships. She set ACC Meet and Virginia school records in winning the 200 butterfly (1:58.58), 500 freestyle (4:43.21) and the 1650 free (16:07.71). She was also a member of UVa's winning 800 free relay team (7:16.63).

Mirjana Bosevska had an exceptional season for the Cavaliers and was the recipient of UVa's women's Rookie of the Year and Hardest Worker Awards. She earned first-team All-America honors by finishing fourth in the 1500-meter free (16:14.79) and 400 IM (4:40.47) at the NCAAs. Bosevska, a member of the Macedonian Olympic Team, was also 10th in the 400 free (4:09.83) to garner honorable mention All-America accolades. She also swam on the Cavaliers' 800 free relay team that finished eighth. At the ACCs, Bosevska set UVa and ACC Meet records in winning the 200 and 400 IMs with times of 2:00.59 and 4:13.77, respectively, and swam the anchor leg of the 'Hoos 800 free relay.

Bernardino earns the ACC Men's Coach of the Year Award for the seventh time in his career and second consecutive season. Bernardino, who is finishing his 22nd season as Virginia's head coach, led the Cavalier men to a 12th-place finish at the 2000 NCAA Championships, the highest finish in program history. UVa also won its fourth ACC title and second straight in 2000. The Cavaliers were 7-1 overall and 4-1 in the ACC and were ranked a program-best seventh during the season. The women's team was 8-0 overall and 5-0 in the ACC in 1999-2000. Virginia finished second at the ACC Championships and tied for ninth at the NCAA Championships.