Connect with Us:  

Moses And Lane Earn Virginia Swimming MVP Honors

Apr 19, 2000

Second-year Ed Moses (Burke, Va./Lake Braddock) and first-year Cara Lane (Charlotte, Va./Providence) have been selected as the men's and women's team MVPs, respectively. Moses is also the recipient of the Bernardino Endowed Swimming Scholarship.

Ed Moses had a phenomenal year for Virginia. He set a pair of short course world records in winning the NCAA titles in the 100 and 200-meter breaststroke in March. He clocked a time of 57.66 in the 100 and 2:06.40 in the 200 in becoming UVa's first two-time NCAA Champion. Moses also set an American 50-meter breaststroke record with a time of 26.96 in the 50 meter split in the 100. He was named the Swimmer of the Championship for his performances at the NCAAs, the first time an ACC swimmer has garnered the award.

Cara Lane became the first UVa female swimmer to earn a NCAA title as she won the 1500-meter freestyle by nearly 11 seconds with a time of 16:03.59 in March. Lane was also third in the 400-meter free (4:07.31) and was 14th in the 200-meter butterfly (2:13.26). Lane also swam on UVa's eighth-place 800 free relay team (8:05.54). She became the sixth UVa female swimmer to be named the Most Valuable Swimmer of the ACC Championships. She set ACC Meet and Virginia school records in winning the 200 butterfly (1:58.58), 500 freestyle (4:43.21) and the 1650 free (16:07.71). She was also a member of UVa's winning 800 free relay team (7:16.63).

Third-year Courtney Colbert (Brown Deer, Wisc./Rufus King) has been named the Diver of the Year. Men's and women's Rookie of the Year honors went to first-years Evan Taylor (Issaquah, Wash./Issaquah) and Mirjana Bosevska (Skopje, Macedonia/Trinity Prep), respectively. Bosevska was also named the women's team's Hardest Worker, while third-year Jamie Grimes (Olney, Md./Sherwood) won the men's Hardest Worker Award.

Fourth-years Jared Felker (Yarmouth, Maine/Mercersburg Academy) and Emily Carrig (Richmond, Va./Douglas Freeman) earned The Coaches Award, which is given in recognition of significant athletic contribution to the University of Virginia, dedication, attitude, commitment, and performance that is instrumental to the team's success. Virginia's Academic Award recipients are fourth-years Austin Ramirez (Brookfield, Wisc./Brookfield Central) and Julie Gehm (Richmond, Va./Mills Godwin).