Connect with Us:  

Texas Claims Fourth Straight Big 12 Championship

Mar 5, 2000

Courtesy: Texas A & M University
The top-ranked Texas men's swimming and diving team smashed their own meet-record point total en route to claiming their fourth consecutive conference championship Saturday night in the final day of competition at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Conference Swimming and Diving Championships at the Student Recreation Center Natatorium on the Texas A&M campus in College Station.

The Longhorns' three-day total of 1,007 points broke the meet record of 920.50 set by Texas in the inaugural championships in 1997.

No. 18 Nebraska was a distant second with 649 points, while Iowa State (564 points) edged out No. 15 Texas A&M (563) for third place in the final event of the evening. Kansas (336) and Missouri (301) rounded out the scoring.

Coach Eddie Reese's squad swept all seven events Saturday evening. Senior Russell Chozick broke a meet record with an NCAA automatic-qualifying time of 1:58.62 in the 200-yard breaststroke. His mark was one of six automatic cuts on the day for the Longhorns.

Texas also swept the outstanding performer awards. Tom Hannan was named outstanding swimmer, Ross Binkley outstanding newcomer and sophomore Troy Dumais outstanding diver. Reese took home swimming coach of the meet honors while Matt Scoggin was named diving coach of the meet.

During the three-day meet, 38 automatic qualifying times were posted. Five meet and three conference records fell as well.

The 13th-ranked Texas women claimed the conference title Feb. 19 at the Student Rec Center with a meet-record total of 914.50 points. Host Texas A&M, ranked 22nd nationally, finished second with 735.50 points. No. 16 Nebraska (634 points), Kansas (472.50), Missouri (425) and Iowa State (242.50) rounded out the field.