Connect with Us:  


Mar 7, 1999

The Calendar of the 1999-2000 FINA Swimming World Cup has been approved by the Delegates of the organizing Federations and the FINA Representatives during a meeting held this morning at Imperias City Hall. The host countries have been confirmed also for the 1999-2000 edition of the competition.
Therefore the Series will once again develop over 12 meets to be held in four continents (three zones):

Zone 1: Americas
Washington DC (USA) November 17-18, 1999
Edmonton (CAN) November 20-21, 1999
Rio de Janeiro (BRA) November 26-28, 1999
Zone 2: Asia / Oceania
TBA (CHN) January 4-5, 2000
Hong Kong (CHN) January 8-9, 2000
Hobart (AUS) January 13-14, 2000
Sydney (AUS) January 18-19, 2000
Zone 3: Europe
Sheffield (GBR) February 1-2, 2000
Gelsenkirchen or Berlin (GER) February 5-6, 2000
Imperia (ITA) February 9-10, 2000
Paris (FRA) February 12-13, 2000
Malmo (SWE) February 16-17, 2000

The following FINA World Cup rules were also changed:

Rule 7.3 - In order to be eligible for the Category Rankings swimmers will have to score at least in one meet in no less than two zones.

Rule 8.2 - Total prize fund for World Record bonuses was doubled, i.e. it was increased from USD 20,000 to USD 40,000. (4,000 per record)

FINA also announces that those National Federations that have not complied with the attendance rule stipulated in the contract, will be fined accordingly.