Connect with Us:  

U.S. Open Championships - Day 1

Dec 3, 1999

Megan Quann set an American record in the 100 breaststroke with a 1:07.94. The old mark of 1:08.09 was held by Amanda Beard. Her time also established new U.S. Open and National Age Group record in the 15-16 year-old category.

The women's 50 free event was a star studded affair for US swimming fans watching the likes of Amy Van Dyken, and Jenny Thompson going head to head with Dara Torres and Angel Martino. Torres won the event in a meet record time of 25.29. Thompson was second in 25.65, with Martino in third in 25.75.

Kelly Stefanyshyn of Canada won the 200 backstroke in a time of 2:13.32.

Martina Moracova won the women's 200 IM in a time of 2:15.22 narrowly beating Cristina Teuscher who finished second in 2:15.69.

The women's 400 free was won by Brooke Bennett with a time of 4:11.10. In second was Janelle Atkinson in 4:11.82, followed by Costa Rican Claudia Poll in a time of 4:12.67. 4th and 5th spots were closely contested in the race with Camelia Potec of Romania 4:14.29 just narrowly touching ahead of Sachiko Yamada of Japan 4:14.30.

The Australian women's 4x200 free relay team set a new US Open meet record with a time of 8:09.42. In second place with a time of 8:15.70 was the Pacific Dolphins Swim team from Canada.

Only 3/100's of a second separated the first and second places in the men's 50 free. Sabir Muhammad of the US 22.32 just touched out Pieter Van Den Hoogenband of the Netherlands who finished second in 22.35.

In the men's 400 free Grant Hackett surprised no one by winning the event. His time of 3:49.50 was good enough to establish a new meet record. Masato Hirano of Japan was second with a time of 3:54.43 followed closely by Bela Szabados in third with a time of 3:54.54.

Lenny Krayzelburg won the 200 back event in a meet record time of 1:57.74. Aaron Peirsol finished second in 1:59.75 while Gordon Kozulj finished third in 1:59.96.

Morgan Knabe of Canada won the mens 100 breaststroke in a time of 1:02.60.

Marcel Wouda was the winner in the mens 200 IM with a meet record time of 2:01.31. Matthew Dunn of Australia was second in 2:02.27, while Canadian Curtis Myden was third in 2:03.34. Brian Johns of Canada was 6th in the event with a time of 2:06.91.