Connect with Us:  


Oct 12, 1999

FINA Awards Samaranch The FINA Order
The highest award of the Federation International de Natation Amateur, the "FINA Order" was attributed by the FINA Bureau to the President of the International Olympic Committee, Juan Antonio Samaranch, during the final day of its meeting in Kuwait. Ths recognition takes into consideration all the merits, efforts and devotion that S.E.M Samaranch has shown in serving the sport of swimming.

FINA will organize in 2001 a Water Polo World League. The project of this new competition will be included in the World Water Polo Calendar together with FINA World Championships and Continental Qualification Tournaments.

The FINA Bureau also approved the Rules and Competition Calendars of the following events to be held in the year 2000.

  1. 12th FINA Diving World Cup - January 25-29, in Sydney (AUS);
  2. 6th FINA Diving Grand Prix to be held between January and June in 13 cities. The FINA Diving Grand Prix Super Final will be organized in November;
  3. The FINA Marathon Swimming World Cup, with a provisional program of 13 events in nine countries, to be organized between February and September.
These rules and calendars will appear shortly on the FINA Internet Site: www.fina.org.

Representatives of the Organizing Committees for the next FINA World Championships presented their reports for:

  1. the 5th FINA World Swimming Championships (25m) in Athens (GRE) on the 16-19 March 2000;
  2. the 6th FINA World Swimming Championships (25m) in Moscow, (RUS) on 4-7 April 2002;
  3. the 9th FINA World Swimming Championships (swimming, diving, water polo, synchronized swimming, open water swimming) in Fukuoka (JPN) on 17-29 July 2001;
  4. the 10th FINA World Championships (swimming, diving, water polo, synchronized swimming, open water swimming) in Barcelona (ESP) in 2003. All these reports confirm that the Championships will be excellently organized and we are expecting great events.

For the next Olympic Games Sydney 2000, Lynne Bates, Competition Manager Aquatics from SOCOG, proudly confirmed during her report that all tickets for swimming and for the majority of sessions in diving were sold out.

Toivo Ohman (SWE) has been nomnated as the Honorary secretary of the FINA Technical Diving Committee.