Connect with Us:  

Another Grand Prix Brace For Franklin

Nov 10, 2012

On the second night of the Minneapolis Grand Prix, four-times Olympic gold medal winner Missy Franklin claimed another brace of victories, taking the 50 yards freestyle and the 100 yards backstroke.

Colorado's Franklin, 17 and in her last pre-college season, clocked 22.15 in the freestyle dash at the the University of Minnesota, host to the first round of this season's USA Swimming Grand Prix. Erin Caflisch and Rebecca Weiland followed on in 22.75 and 22.88. Franklin then dominated the sprint backstroke final with a 50.97 triumph that left in her a poo apart from those closest to her,  Mickayla Hinkle, on 53.55, and Tess Behrens, 53.67.

Gator Ryan Lochte, five-times Olympic medallist at London 2012 and 400IM champion, took the 100y back, his underwater work off the walls driving him to a 46.21 win ahead of David Plummer, 47.24, and the winner's teammate in Gainesville, Arkady Vyatchanin (RUS), on 47.82.

Lochte was involved in another race too - and could be forgiven for finished last of eight. The 50y freestyle dash went to Jimmy Feigen in 19.73 ahead of Longhorn Aquatics teammate Garrett Weber-Gale, on 20.11, with Derek Toomey third in 20.17. Lochte clocked 21.48 - on 'fly.

"The reason why I swam fly for the 50 free is because I am never going to swim a 50 free in my life,” Lochte said through USA Swimming "There was really no point in me swimming it so I wanted to try a 50 fly since I’ll swim the 200y medley."

Becca Mann, 14, fell just shy of the US age record in the 200y 'fly, her 1:57.14 closing in on a legend: the 13-14 National Age Group record was set by Mary T. Meagher in 1979 (1:56.58). Closest to Mann were Gator Dagny Knutson, on 1:58.24, and Tori Simenec, on 1:58.87. Mann was back on the podium soon after, her 4:40.15 effort in the 500y free leaving her just shy of the battle for gold won by Minnesota’s Ashley Steenvoorden 4:38.45 to 4:38.47 over and Olympic teamster Chloe Sutton.

Denmark’s Mads Glaesner blew the opposition away in the men's equivalent, his 4:15.96 finish a league ahead of Liam Egan, on 4:26.49, and Janardana Burns, 4:28.70.

Bobby Bollier scooped the 200y 'fly in 1:44.46 way ahead of the rest of a field led by Kyler Van Swol, 1:47.07, and Brandon Hatanaka, 1:49.69.

In other action, Kierra Smith  clocked 2:08.11 to win the 200y breaststroke, while Mike Alexandrov dominated the men's final in 1:55.38.