Connect with Us:  

Americans Warm Up In Little Pool

Nov 29, 2012

News Round-Up:

USA: Ryan Lochte, Olympic 400m medley champion, fell just shy of the American record to win the 200 yards medley on the opening night of the 2012 AT&T Winter National Championships at Austin, Texas. Lochte’s 1:40.97 effort compared to his 2007 swim of 1:40.08 and left him 4sec up on next best, Alex Lendrum and Austin Surhoff (Olympic 800m free champion gold medalist Katie Ledecky clocked 4:34.53 to win the 500 yards free, having been on American record pace to half-way. The minor spoils went to Haley Anderson and Leah Smith, on 4:36.87 and 4:36.90 respectively. Michael McBroom took his first US title with a 4:16.08 win in the 500 yards free ahead of Cristian Quintero and Matthew Barber, on 4:16.56 and 4:16.62. Celina Li, on 1:55.28 to 1:55.32 for Stina Gardell, snatched the 200 medley crown, with double Olympic backstroke champion Missy Franklin on 1:55.88 for third. Jessica Hardy clocked 21.83 to win the 50 free 0.01sec up on Margo Geer, Christine Magnuson third in 21.91. The men's free dash went to Olympic 100m backstroke champion Matt Grevers in 18.88, Davis Tarwater on 19.36, those two a league apart, Pavel Babaev taking bronze 2secs adrift. The World Short-Course Championships, in a 25m pool, take place in Istanbul from December 12-15. Olympic 100m free champion Nathan Adrian was forced to withdraw after he jammed his finger in the lane rope during warm-up and needed to avoid causing further injury.

Denmark: At Danish Short-Course Nationals in Bronshoj, Copenhagen, Mie Nielsen clocked a sharp 57.57 to win 100m backstroke to equal her own national record. In other action, Jeanette Ottesen won the 100m medley in 1:01.36; Rikke Pedersen the 200m breaststroke in 2:18.88;  Katrine Sorensen the 800 free in 8:38.82; Kelly Rasmussen the 50 free in 25.34; Andreas Schiellerup the 100 back in 52.83, with Morten Hansen establishing a Danish junior mark of 53.51; Daniel Skaaning the 100 medley in 54.42; Anders Lie the 400m free in 3:44.86; Anders Blume the 50 free in 22.50 and Joachim Mortensen the 200 breaststroke in 2:11.26.

Italy: The squad for the world s/c titles in Istanbul, in alphabetical order: Arianna Barbieri, Ilaria Bianchi, Federico Bocchia, Chiara Boggiatto, Diletta Carli, Andrea Mitchell D'Arrigo, Gabriele Detti, Alex Di Giorgio, Silvia Di Pietro, Mirco Di Tora, Luca Dotto, Fabio Laugeni, Damiani Lestingi, Gianluca Maglia, Filippo Magnini, Alice Mizzau, Alice Nesti, Marco Orsi, Gregorio Paltrinieri, Federica Pellegrini, Mattia Pesce, Stefania Pirozzi, Alessia Polieri, Matteo Rivolta, Michele Santucci, Fabio Scozzoli.