Connect with Us:  

Stage Set For Aussie Super Series

Dec 12, 2012

Phelps slayer Chad Le Clos (RSA) and Chinese Olympic champions Ye Shiwen and Jiao Liuyang will head their national teams at the inaugural BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series in Perth against Australia on January 18-19.

The event will take place at the revamped outdoor pool at Perth’s Challenge Stadium. Swimming Australia Head Coach Leigh Nugent said his EnergyAustralia sponsored squad are up for the challenge: "The BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series is a fantastic opportunity for our athletes to race, and to race world-class opposition. It’s been four years since we’ve had the chance to compete in a home pool for Australia, and many of our athletes can’t wait to get to Perth to compete.

"The Chinese are always strong and with 18 members of their Olympic team heading to Perth both our men and women will have plenty to swim for. From a South African point of view, they have also been very strong over the shorter distances and someone like Chad le Clos is able to back up and race well across a variety of events.”

Tickets for the points-earn-prizes meet can be bought at www.ticketmaster.com.au. More information at www.aquaticsuperseries.com.au

The Battle Lines:


MEN: Daniel Arnamnart (NSW), Ashley Delaney (VIC), Thomas Fraser-Holmes (QLD), Jayden Hadler (NSW), Mitchell Larkin (QLD), James Magnussen (NSW), David McKeon (NSW), Kenrick Monk (QLD), Ryan Napoleon (QLD), Brenton Rickard (QLD), James Roberts (QLD), Christian Sprenger (QLD), Matthew Targett (VIC), Daniel Tranter (NSW), Chris Wright (QLD)

WOMEN: Bronte Barratt (QLD), Cate Campbell (QLD), Bronte Campbell (QLD), Alicia Coutts (QLD), Blair Evans (WA), Sally Foster (SA), Samantha Hamill (QLD), Belinda Hocking (VIC), Sarah Katsoulis (VIC), Yolane Kukla (QLD), Meagen Nay (QLD), Kylie Palmer (QLD), Leiston Pickett (QLD), Melanie Schlanger (QLD), Emily Seebohm (QLD)


MEN: Cheng Feiyi, Li Xiayan, Zhou Jiawei, Lv Zhiwu, Xu Jiayu, Huang Yunkun, Chen Yin, Liu Weija, Shi Tengfei, Hao Yun, Li Yunqi, Dai Jun, Shi Yang

WOMEN: Zhao Jing, Zhao Jin, Lu Ying, Tang Yi, Fu Yuanhui, He Yun, Jiao Liuyang, Liu Zige, Xu Danlu, Shao Yiwen, Ye Shiwen, Bai Anqi, Yao Yige, Pang Jiaying, Wang Haibing, Chen Xinyi

South Africa:

MEN: Alaric Basson, Devon Brown, Bryon Doyle, Calvyn Justus, Charl Crous, Chad Le Clos, Darren Murray, Roland Schoeman, Leith Shankland, Aryton Sweeney, Garth Tune, Neil Versfeld, Jan Petrus Van Der Merwe, Giulio Zorzi

WOMEN: Jessica Ashley-Cooper, Marne Erasmus, Kelly Gunnel, Lehesta Kemp, Trudi Maree, Vanessa Mohr, Tara-Lynn Nicholas, Jessica Pengelly, Kyna Pereira, Karin Prinsloo, Marlies Ross, Suzaan Van Biljon, Nathania Van Niekerk, Rene Warnes, Michelle Weber