Connect with Us:  

FINA WC Day 14 - Men's Water Polo Match 45 & 46

Jul 26, 2003

Match 45, Men 12:00, 26.07.03
7th & 8th placings
Quarters: 0-2, 1-4, 1-2, 3-3

Referees: Georgios Stavridis (GRE), Zoran Tomic (CRO)

SLOVAKIA: Michal Gogola, Peter Nizny, Juraj Zatovic, Jozef Hrosik (1), Peter Veszelits, Robert Kaid, Karol Baco (1), Milan Cipov (4), Martin Mravik, Michal Gergely, Tomas Bruder (2), Gejza Gyurcsy, Michal Hruska. Coach: Ondrej Gajdac.

AUSTRALIA: James Stanton, Ryan Moody, Trent Franklin (1), Pietro Figlioli (1), Dean Semmens, Toby Jenkins, Timothy Neesham (2), Samuel McGregor, Thomas Whalan (3), Gavin Woods (1), Aleksandr Osadchuk (1), Nathan Thomas (2), Rafael Sterk. Coach: Erkin Shagaev.

Australia emulated its women's team by finishing in seventh position with the comfortable victory over Slovakia. Australia led 2-0 at the quarter and went 6-2 ahead with Nathan Thomas netting twice on extra for eight goals here in Barcelona. Milan Cipov scored the first of four to kick off the second half. Tim Neesham scored his second for the Aussie Sharks for 7-3 but Cipov replied with a drive down the right. An extra goal apiece, including Josef Hrosik's 10th for Slovakia, rounded out the third quarter for 8-5. Thomas Whalan scored his second and third from deep right-hand catch and the top, while Cipov grabbed a pair on left-hand catch and extra for a championship tally of eight. Aussie Aleksandar Osadchuk scored his fifth penalty of the championship (in normal time) and Thomas Bruder completed the scoring with a counter-attack goal for Slovakia in the last 16 seconds.

Match 46, Men 13:30, 26.07.03
5th & 6th placings
Quarters: 3-3, 2-2, 2-2, 0-2

Referees: Radu Matache (ROM), Massimiliano Caputi (ITA)

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA: Brandon Brooks, Wolf Wigo, Omar Amr, Jeff Powers (1), Adam Wright, Chris Segesman, Layne Beaubien, Tony Azevedo (2), Dan Klatt (1), Brett Ormsby (1), Jesse Smith (2), Genai Kerr, Ryan Bailey. Coach: Ratko Rudic.

SPAIN: Jesus Rollan, Angel Luis Andreo, Sergi Pedrerol (1), Gustavo Marcos (1), Guillermo Molina (1), Xavier Garcia, Gabriel Hernandez, Ivan Moro, Daniel Ballart (3), Salvador Gomez, Ivan Perez (3), Javier Sanchez-Toril, Daniel Moro. Coach: Juan Jane.

Outgoing champion Spain gave some cheer to its supporters with an excellent victory over the United States of America. Spain shot to a 3-1 lead but the USA retaliated through Jesse Smith from the top and Jeff Powers at centre forward for 3-3 at the quarter break. The second quarter couldn't be separated, as well. Brett Ormsby had the USA ahead on extra and Daniel Ballart responded kin the same manner. Jesse Smith scored on a drive for 5-4 but then the Ivan Perez phenomenon kicked in with a backhand from centre forward 14 seconds from halftime. He threw two more from the two-metre zone, the first on extra and the second with his raw power, slithering off the near post. Dan Klatt had levelled for the USA at 6-6 but Perez's third made it 7-6, much to the delight of the near-capacity crowd. Tony Azevedo scored his second and 12th for the championship on a cluttered right-hand catch position, just nine seconds from the hooter. Both teams had a timeout but Spain gained a penalty off its chance when a USA defender was called for stopping the shot with two hands. Ballart converted at 4:24 for 8-7. Ballart was at it again two minutes later with a lob shot from the top for 9-7. Both teams had their second timeout in the last two minutes