Connect with Us:  

FINA Names Suits Commission Members

Aug 1, 2009  - Craig Lord

FINA has issued the names of those who will sit on its suits commission to approve equipment and monitor developments in the industry:

The FINA release:

Rome (ITA), August 1, 2009 - As announced by the FINA Bureau, a Commission led by Prof. Jan-Anders Manson (from EPFL in Lausanne, SUI) and formed by scientific experts and an athlete’s representative was appointed to control the swimwear approval process and to monitor the development of the swimsuit industry based on the rules established by the FINA Bureau and the measurable scientific tests on buoyancy and permeability. 

This Commission is formed as follows:
  • Chairman: Prof. Jan-Anders Manson (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, SUI)

  • Members: Mr. Rafael Escalas - Athletes' representative 
  • Prof. David Pendergast (State University of New York - Buffalo) - USA 

  • Prof. Brian Blanksby (University of Western Australia) - AUS 

  • Associate Prof. Shigahiro Takahashi (Chukyo University) - JPN